2016 ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Awards

The ITA/Arthur Ashe, Jr. Award for Leadership and Sportsmanship Award takes into account a player’s tennis accomplishments, scholastic achievements and extracurricular endeavors.  Just as Arthur Ashe was a great player and humanitarian, this award (which dates to 1984) recognizes players who excelled on and off the court during their college careers. Sportsmanship, leadership and character are also important criteria.

The 2016 National winners are:

Men NCAA Division I
Ryan Shane
University of Virginia

NCAA Division II
Ross Molinaro IV
Mercyhurst University

NCAA Division III
Jake Humphreys
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Seth Moore
Arizona Christian

Junior/Community College
David Ismailian
Glendale Community College


Women NCAA Division I
Katherine Whiteway
Pennsylvania State University

NCAA Division II
Alyssa Savill
California University of Pennsylvania

NCAA Division III
Sarah Woods
Kalamazoo College

Deanri Human
Lewis and Clark State College

Junior/Community College
Viktoriya Shumakova
Glendale Community College

For more information about all ITA/Arthur Ashe, Jr. Leadership and Sportsmanship Award Winners; all ITA Award Winners; and Past ITA Award Winners, please visit here

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *